skip to main content
ic/phone_android Created with Sketch. (800) 417-5099
A ComfortCare Homes Blog Series
Seven Stages of Alzheimer’s

Seven Stages of Alzheimer’s – Stage Six

Firsthand experience with people diagnosed with Alzheimer’s can be misleading. Symptoms appear, the diagnosis is confirmed, and the individual shows increasingly severe signs of cognitive impairment. As time goes on, the decline becomes more evident and more rapid. Alzheimer’s may take as long as 25 years or more to progress from the initial stages to the end of life.

Stage Six – Severe Decline

Symptoms at this stage are severe enough to jeopardize the individual’s well-being. Early signs of Stage 6 include an inability to dress without assistance; i.e., dressing backwards or putting street clothes overnight clothes. Hygiene and cleanliness become issues. The person may be unable to brush their teeth or adjust the temperature of bathwater. As the disease progresses, they become incontinent and require assistance with all aspects of toileting. Because of the severity of their decline, they may display little or no knowledge of current circumstances, and may confuse loved ones with deceased relatives, or forget the names of their parents or spouse. They exhibit difficulty in speaking. Their fear and frustration can trigger emotional outbursts and aggressive behavior. Stage 6 lasts an average of two-and-a-half years depending on other unrelated health conditions.

Stages of Alzheimer’s Elderly Couple Talking

Changes in the Ability to Make or Follow Plans and Work with Numbers

Alzheimer’s warning signs: Difficulty following the steps of a card game or recipe; changes in the ability to do math problems or manage finances; difficulty concentrating on such tasks.

Normal memory changes: Occasional math errors, such as when balancing the checkbook.

Changes in Decision-Making Skills and/or Judgment

Alzheimer’s warning signs: Falling for financial scams; making unusually large monetary donations; poor personal hygiene; not wearing clean clothes or putting clothes on wrong.

Normal memory change: Occasionally making a poor decision.

While the specific symptoms and rate of decline may vary, researchers have identified seven stages in the progression of Alzheimer’s disease. It is important to note that while symptoms described here are typical of Alzheimer’s, confirmation of the disease requires professional medical diagnosis.

If you or a loved one is experiencing these symptoms, see your doctor right away. Early diagnosis and therapies can help prolong independence.

Connect With the Experts
ComfortCare Homes has pioneered dementia care for over 25 years.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. View Privacy Policy.